How to Take the Frustration out of Drawing Practice

Here is an excellent link for the group, especially those, like myself, who struggle to get around to their drawing practice.  Sometimes, knowing that it has to be done is not enough.  Minds play all sorts of dirty tricks to find ways to stop us from doing it, even though we can logically understand that we must practise in order to improve.

Paul Foxton has an interesting take on drawing exercises, that we touched on in our drawing group yesterday – slow down.

This entry was posted in Drawings and tagged , by Jan Langford. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jan Langford

I've been developing my personal journaling style for a long time.  I started with an old-fashioned children's scrapbook of snippets and later, developed a journal writing voice, discovering how to use it for self-analysis and solving personal problems. In 2006 I started blogging and used it as a combination of the above i.e. a place to gather interesting snippets and a place for working out the personal stuff.  I used it sporadically and on a whim.  I wasn't entirely sure of my motives for blogging and I wasn't concerned whether I had a readership or not. Four years ago I introduced paint to my journals and became enthused with mixed media and visual journaling.  I had no aspiration to call myself an "artist" at that point and was more likely to call myself a witch, or a tarot reader, a back-to-nature smallholder, an ageing hippie, a toker.  One thing is certain. I was then and still am, a retired ex-pat living in central Portugal, struggling with the language and the culture. Things move on, as they do.  I find myself part of a supportive group of developing artists, Art Group D'Acha.  Having dabbled a bit with oils, I've now gone back to basics, learning drawing with Irisha Panteleimonova and leading an enthusiastic art journaling group, which I have wanted to do for some time. If you take the time to read my posts, or to follow our group as we continue to grow, I am very grateful to you.  In return, I will share fragments of myself that I hope will encourage your own inner journeys and help you to develop confidence to be yourself in a society that seems to want bind us in conformity.  

4 thoughts on “How to Take the Frustration out of Drawing Practice

  1. I signed up for his (Paul’s) value exercises, and got the first one! – Scales. Paul will send one a week. I am going to practice the first one everyday for one week. Paul convinced me to do so 😉

Leave a Reply

